Wednesday, 29 July 2015
True Detective Season 1 Review
Usually I know that I have found that perfect thread of gold when I can't stop thinking about it. It's like a deja vu virus which catches you and makes to come back to the same spot over and over again.
Obsession is not exactly what you would call a healthy experience, but no one really pays attention.
For the first time I have caught a side of series during the commercial breaks of F1 coverage. The second season was on the way TV people had to spread the word about the comeback of hugely successful series. With my hands full of time I've decided to give it a go. With the first episode of second season making an impression of very tangled but kind of promising show I came back to the original series to see the full potential.
This time I was hooked starting from the very beginning of the first episode. Somehow it seemed that this ritual murder would be very different from the likes you would find on well known detective shows. Deeper and darker than ever.. However if you would take a close notice the show was never really about a single one murder it was more about the lives and relationship of two detectives who decided to solve it.
Both the acting and the scenario were great. And there's just some kind of misery about those swamps of Louisiana that pulls you right in doesn't let go until the end. All of those different people, religious communities seem to become objects of suspicion right away. I believe there was a perfect background of those never ending Rust's speeches, and yet it didn't seemed like there's enough of them. Definitely, one of the deepest detective dramas out there, just one of the kind.
Thursday, 9 July 2015
F1 British GP 2015
Having quite a few days passed after the last F1 race hosted in Silverstone it might look like a history already. However, from a fan's perspective that could be remembered as the most exiting race of the year with bits and pieces of everything.
If we would took notice only of the final result it might seem like a funny business as per usual:
"So, how was the race?"
"Great, very exiting"
"Who was the winner?"
"Lewis Hamilton"
Well yeah, not much excitement surrounding the final result, but the controversy of what could of happened always looks more juicy than real news.
And we could of been talking about a 1-2 victory of mighty fast Williams if it would of come all their way during the race. And why not? Their quick start and overtake of both dominating Mercedes cars should of raised a bunch of eyebrows. The race is on - that's what every single one of us should of recognized afterwards. Who knows, maybe if Massa released Bottas which seamed to had been faster at the time, maybe that could of helped to save the lead. And many fans seemed to be angry about this kind of lack of reaction from Williams side of garage up until Hamilton won the highest spot after pitting first.
Well, after the first part of the race the excitement came back when everyone started counting time for the rain to start. I believe it was the first rainy race of the year and oh boy oh boy how many of us have waited for this. With Silverstone being such a long track as it is, parts of the track became slippery quite quickly with rain starting to come as there was still quite a lot of dry patches for a while. This slow start made a lot of confusion in between the teams. While some drivers found it hard to stay on the track, others found the better end of the stick as besides the pits most of the track has stayed relatively dry. 4 drivers went straight on intermediates and immediately fell short as it was too dry for their tires. Others made a choice too late and lost a large chunks of time and let me say those Williams seemed terrible in the wet. While exactly two drivers got it right - Hamilton and Vettel. Well, the biggest improvement could be seen from Vettel - driving in 8th for most part of the race and jumping into third. Impressive! The unluckiest pair must definitely be Williams duo for loosing shot at the podium after leading the race. But the unexpected is really what we love. Don't we?
Score: 8,5 out of 10
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
